top of page

Early Years Foundation Stages


We follow the government's Early Years Foundation Stage with its 7 areas of learning. Our provision reflects the four overarching principles of the Statutory Framework for the Early Years Foundation Stage.


A Unique Child  

Every child is a unique child who is constantly learning and can be resilient, capable, confident and self- assured.


Positive Relationships

Children learn to be strong and independent through positive relationships.


Enabling Environments

Children learn and develop well in enabling environments, in which their experiences respond to their individual needs and there is a strong partnership between practitioners, parents and carers.


Learning and Development

Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. The framework covers the education and care of all children in early years provision including children with special educational needs and disabilities.

How we provide for development and learning


Children start to learn about the world around them from the moment they are born. The care and education offered by our setting helps children to continue to do this by providing all of the children with interesting activities that are appropriate for their age and stage of development.


The Areas of Development and Learning comprise:


Prime Areas
  • Personal, social and emotional development.

  • Physical development.

  • Communication and language.


Specific Areas
  • Literacy.

  • Mathematics.

  • Understanding the world.

  • Expressive arts and design.

bottom of page